Shopping in Moi-même-Moitié, Shinjuku

Last December 28 to January 7 was the most exciting, fun-filled, and interesting 11 days of my life. I spent 6 unforgettable days in Osaka and 5 days in Tokyo, Japan with my SO.

January 2, my first shopping experience in Mana-sama’s boutique located in the 5th floor of Maruichi (0101) near the West Entrance of Shinjuku Station.

Maruichi

Was VERY EXCITED!!!!

When I got to the 5th floor, I was kinda disappointed because the space still looked like I was still in a department store as opposed to private enclosed spaces which boutiques ought to be. I was expecting that Mana-sama’s boutique was supposed to be wonderful. So I turned left from the escalator, I already saw h.Naoto, but still no sign of Moi-même-Moitié, but then, near the end of the hallway, there it was, an old European-fortress-inspired entrance to a gothic sanctuary, Moi-même-Moitié!

I then took out my camera to take a picture of the entrance, and then a lady from the department store came to me and told me that taking pictures was prohibited. But she was too late, I’ve already stolen a shot. Apparently, there was really a sign on the entrance, but I wasn’t able to notice it because I was so excited. You can’t really blame me… So, I’m not gonna put up the pic here because I respect Mana-sama and if he says “no pictures,” I’ll have to obey that with all my heart… (as cheesy as that may have sounded, I don’t give a damn!)

His store is the coolest boutique ever! It was very warm inside, I had to take off my jacket. I took a look around and I’ve noticed that the attendants were really quiet, in fact the entire boutique was really quiet. Not that I have any problem with it. Then I saw this one piece that looked absolutely nice and decided to try it on. I had my SO talk to the attendant in Japanese because my Japanese wasn’t that fluent and I didn’t want to stress myself with the language, I was just thinking of all the very beautiful clothes around me! Then I was shown to the fitting room by this girl, 石井さん (looked at her name tag), who was very friendly by the way, (well, most Japanese are, especially to customers) which was at the center of the boutique and guess what! Their dressing room was a coffin! Very nice! I was very thrilled just by trying on a dress! Haha! Who would have known!

I was also kinda worried at the time when I was fitting the dress because Moi-même-Moitié clothing only comes in one size (M), but I was very happy to know that the dress fitted me perfectly.I felt like I was trying on my bridal gown or something. I also tried on a skirt, but I ended up buying the one piece and a pair of socks. At the counter, I had my purchase gift-wrapped and I was given a Moi-même-Moitié point card, which has 20 stamp slots to fill in. To get one stamp, you have to purchase 10,000yen worth of items (not including items on sale). After completing the point card, you get a gift! Yey!I wonder what gift is worth 200,00 yen of Moi-même-Moitié stuff?

I went back to the store the next day to buy another pair of socks, a pair of lace gloves, and a choker. More items, more points! Yes, I’m an obsessive-compulsive point collector!!! WARNING: Moi-même-Moitié will drain your pant pockets! But Moi-même-Moitié really does have lovely dresses and the craftsmanship is superb. Definitely the couture of Gothic Lolita fashion.

My SO who doesn’t really go for Gothic Lolita fashion was even mesmerized by everything that Moi-même-Moitié has to offer, from the feel of the place to the clothing and accessories they sell. If you’re really into Gothic Lolita / Aristocrat clothing and want the best the world has to offer, there’s nowhere to go but here.

If you have time in your hands, please do visit Moi-même-Moitié. You’ll find that you just can’t leave the store without buying anything. The other branch is in Hiroshima. I’d like to go visit the place sometime.

Hail Mana for creating Moi-même-Moitié!!!

paper-bag.jpg
wrapped.jpg
ribbon.jpg
wrapped2.jpg

plastic.jpg
stuff.jpg

 

~ by Thrain Ashknel on January 26, 2008.

7 Responses to “Shopping in Moi-même-Moitié, Shinjuku”

  1. Cooool! Remember the other store attendant who’s a Mark Wahlberg look-alike and was always looking at us through the corner of his eye and always writing in his logbook? And the other girl, 松丸さん, who was really trying hard to communicate with us in English. And the other girl who kept hiding behind the shadows or somewhere. 😀

  2. Yeah. That Mark Wahlberg guy was kinda weird… Haha!

    The store attendants are lucky cause they get to wear Moi-même-Moitié everyday.

  3. Awesome post! And cool Moi-même-Moitié gear. Gothic Lolitas are my fav kind of Harajuku girls. Next to Ganguros… 😉

  4. omg so cool!
    I want to go to moitie too!
    and omg…the way they pack the dress and all….awww…

    ok, i found this entry randomly by searching “moi-meme-moitie”.
    LOLS.

  5. Hi,
    You’re lucky to have been in Japan, and bought Moi~Même~Moitié clothes and accesories , they’re really nice .
    Elegant Gothic Lolita is the best style ❤
    Bye
    Have a nice day .

  6. hi!!! i was lookin for moi meme moitie on the internet, and i found your blog!!
    I wish i could go to mana sama’s boutique..
    but i’m from spain hehe

    i would like to know if we can buy moi meme moitie clothes by internet.

    if you know, could you leave me a comment on my page??

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!

    ^^

    BYEE~~~

  7. Like a few of the older comments, I too happened to stumble upon your page here while looking for Mana’s amazing fashion line.
    However, I bare bad news. The store in Hiroshima has closed. I forgot where I heard it from, but in case you weren’t aware of it…
    It’s a shame…
    But thank you for the wonderful tour!

    ~Nyx

Leave a Reply

 
